Chico Maraginot

Hi, my full name is Chico Gulfan Maraginot, but you can call me Chico. I am 33 years old and come from Philippines. I’ve been living here at Svalbard for 1 year and two months now. I arrived the summer of 2018 and Im living together with my sister, her Norwegian husband and my 3 nieces. At the beginning when I came to Svalbard, it was a big change for me, due to the climate conditions, with 4 months of darkness in winter and full daylight in summer. It is very different from where I come from.At first, I was working part time in Longyearbyen; I was working as an assistant guide on boat trips, a helper and a handler of five dogs for 6 months. But part time work is not enough for me, so I applied for fulltime work all over Longyearbyen, but sadly I was not qualified. Luckily, I found that this great company, Green Dog Svalbard, was hiring so I am happy that I now got this fulltime job, as a handler of dogs. I have now been working here for 6 months and still counting… I love this work.

You can see me around at the yard. The only filipino dog handler in town hehe…

Scroll to Top

Difficulty Levels

SG1

Suitable for everyone

SG2

Suitable for most people

SG3

Suitable for those in normal good shape

SG4

Suitable for those in good shape

SG5

This activity requires very good physical shape

Cancellation

  • If cancelled 22 days or more prior to departure 100 % refund
  • If cancelled 22-7 days prior to departure 50 % refund
  • Cancellation less than 7 days prior to departure is a ”no show” and does not qualify for any refund.
  • You may apply to your insurance company for a refund if you provide a medical certificate.
  • If Green Dog Svalbard decides to cancel a trip due to weather conditions or any other reasons, you will receive a full refund!